midcenturymeals

1950's and 60's meals, memories and trivia

Old Fashioned Beef with Vegetable Soup

on March 3, 2012

From this...

This soup is the most wonderful cold weather soup…maybe ever! It is so thick and rich tasting. It is made with cross cut beef shanks which you can find in most grocery stores. It is inexpensive. I also always check the “clearance” meat area. When I see them there, I buy every one they have and freeze them. Either way, you get lots of meat and flavor for very little money.

Yesterday I explained how I came about this recipe. Dr. Gordon Cromwell, my son’s best friend’s dad, suggested I get it from his mom, Jinx. Gordon is a brilliant orthopedic surgeon, so maybe this soup contributed to his brain power growing up! It’s worth a try.

This recipe can be altered to your taste, i.e., add more veggies, or less if you would like. The vegetables can be either medium or large dice. I wasn’t given all the measurements so I tested until it came out right. Jinx says she has difficulty finding beef shank and has to order it from her butcher. I have had no problem finding it. I asked the butcher and they pointed them out. They were cross cut and I took 4 which equaled 3 ½ lbs.  I have another recipe for beef and vegetable soup that is very quick and easy. This is easy though not so quick, but it is the best beef soup I have ever tasted and my family wholeheartedly agrees! If you want more broth, you can add a can of low-sodium broth, but it will change the flavor. Thanks Jinx!!

...to this!!

I prefer to make this the day before we eat it. In the refrigerator, the fat will rise to the top and solidify. I use a small spoon to scrape it off so I can get around the meat and veggies. Then you just reheat and eat! Your soup is low fat and the flavor even more pronounced!

Old Fashioned Beef with Vegetable Soup

Serves 4-6

2 tsp. oil

Beef Shank, 3-4 lbs. (aprox. 4 shanks)

Dash salt and pepper

2 bay leaves

¼ c. celery leaves, chopped

Pour oil in large stock pot. Brown the meat well on both sides then cover with water (I used about 7 cups). Bring to a boil on high heat. Lower heat, cover and simmer for 1 hr.

Add:

1/3 c. onions, chopped

1 large potato, diced

1 large carrot, diced

1 celery stalk, chopped

1/2 c. corn

1-15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, undrained

Simmer covered for 2 to 3 more hours until meat is tender. Add more salt and pepper if needed. If the broth is still a little watery, remove lid and bring to a low boil until the broth has reduced and has the flavor you want. Don’t do this if you are waiting until the next day to eat it. It may end up with the richer flavor from waiting and there will be no need to reduce.

Today’s Trivia: Chrysler Corporation introduced power steering in automobiles. It was called, “hydraguide.”

The next day. Fat accumulation.

4 responses to “Old Fashioned Beef with Vegetable Soup

  1. Val Fulmer says:

    I love soups, especially in the cold winter months. This looks so good, I can almost smell the aroma of it simmering on my stove. Gonna give this a try! Thanks for sharing Lori. xxxooo’s Val

  2. We are not really big on soups but I have to say…I wouldn’t hesitate to scoop myself a bowl of that and chow down! Looks fantastic!

Please leave a Reply

