midcenturymeals

1950's and 60's meals, memories and trivia

Celebrate the Sun with Creamy Berry Fizz!

on March 22, 2012

Creamy!

I was going to save this recipe for later this Spring, but today was about 50 degrees and the sun was shining for the first time in quite a while. The daffodils (my very favorite flower), were blooming in all their glory and I have been infected with Spring Fever! So….. you are getting the recipe for one of my favorite drinks of all that I tried from my mid-century cookbooks. I have many more to test, but for now this is my fave!

Fizzy!

For those of you who were around during the 50′ and 60’s, can you recall a holiday gathering or a party of any kind that didn’t include a punch bowl full of some creamy delight? It usually consisted of a fruit juice, sherbet or ice cream and a bubbly soda, (or Champagne if it was an adult party!) This is one of those textbook mid-century punches.  I have broken the recipe down to single servings as well. You can double, triple, etc. I have also made this nearly sugar free though s.f. cream soda is tough to find. If you want to make a punch but don’t have a punch bowl, you can go to almost any thrift store and find punch bowl and glasses for around $10.00. If you are really good, you can find them for less! I have not paid over $7.00 and have several different patterns. When I get bored, I donate them back and buy new ones!

I can’t emphasize enough what a wonderfully refreshing drink this is. I should say a great summer drink, but I don’t let the seasons dictate what I eat and drink. Pumpkin pie in July, barbeque ribs in November, Creamy Berry Fizz in March! You can replace the frozen strawberries and sherbet with frozen raspberries and raspberry sherbet if you prefer. I personally love the original recipe myself. Everyone else who tried this LOVED it as well!  As I said above, you could replace the bubbly soda (in this case cream soda), with Champagne or if you want to really step it up…vodka maybe? This is wonderfully versatile, positively delicious and so very mid-century!

Creamy Berry Fizz

Serves 16

4 c. unsweetened pineapple juice

2- 10 oz. pkgs. frozen strawberries

1 qt. vanilla ice cream, softened

1 qt. pineapple or tropical fruit sherbet, softened

4 c. cream soda

Combine first 4 ingredients in large mixing bowl. Stir with a whisk until blended, or you can use a blender. Slowly pour in cream soda. Whisk or pulse one more time. Pour into tall glasses or a large punch bowl.

Single Serving

1/3 c. unsweetened pineapple juice

3 Tbls. frozen strawberries

3 Tbls. vanilla ice cream

3 Tbls. pineapple or tropical fruit sherbet

1/3 c. cream soda

Follow directions above.

In 1953, a company that began in 1917, The French Sardine Co., became Star-Kist Foods. Charlie the Tuna swam his way into our hearts in 1961.

3 responses to “Celebrate the Sun with Creamy Berry Fizz!

  1. Caryl Wilson says:

    Oh my gosh. My mom used to make this punch for every party and open-house she had. She had the whole glass punchbowl and cups thing going. She would make one that was alcohol free and one that wasn’t. I had forgotten all about it. I might just have to try and make it myself. Thanks for the recipes and the trips down memory lane.

  2. […] Celebrate the Sun with Creamy Berry Fizz! (midcenturymeals.wordpress.com) […]

Please leave a Reply

