midcenturymeals

1950's and 60's meals, memories and trivia

Sunshine and Meatloaf…a perfect Sunday!

on March 25, 2012

Wow, day number three..sunny and almost warm. I should be blogging about picnics and BBQs but I am unprepared. Our winter has been so cold and wet and snowy and…well you get the drift, that I only have blogs and pictures prepared for hearty warm comfort food. Speaking of hearty comfort food, how about meatloaf? Does that evoke memories of a mid-century childhood or what? I actually didn’t care for meatloaf when I was young. Think about the name. “Meat” and “Loaf”. There is something not quite right about that. Having said that, my palate, which should have become more sophisticated as I aged, now adores “meat” and “loaf”. Fortunately, so do my boys.

Isn't this the reason we make meatloaf?

Not only is it great with mashed potatoes at dinner time, but is there anything better than meatloaf sandwiches? Good old fashioned soft “Wonder” bread, (though I now use whole grain white if I use white at all), and tons of ketchup slathered all over. I don’t eat ketchup on any other meat, but I couldn’t imagine meatloaf without. A little tip: When you make your sandwich, spread butter or mayo on the bread before you put the ketchup on. They will act as a raincoat and prevent the bread from soaking up the ketchup.

Ingredients for a double batch.

This recipe has carrots in it. Weird, huh? I found this recipe many years ago in an old cookbook I bought at a flea market in Georgia. It called for the carrots to be sliced lengthwise. You put half the meat in the loaf pan, then the carrots, and then the rest of the meat. It was delicious, but the carrots cut the loaf in half and you didn’t get those nice compact slices of meat. I decided to try grated carrots, and it was really good. I won’t tell you this is the best recipe ever, that is personal opinion. However, although my husband loves spicy meatloaf, he and my boys love this recipe! I think there may be as many variations on meatloaf as there are people on the planet. (Slight exaggeration but close!) You can leave out the carrots but the meatloaf seems more moist and they add a touch of sweetness.

I will freeze the mini loaves.

When I make meatloaf, I always double the recipe. I did that this time and the pictures will show how much I ended up with. I froze the mini loaves. I baked all my loaves in my well- seasoned Pampered Chef bakers, but it works in any type of loaf pan. When I was in a hurry once, I made them in a 9×9 baker. It cooked quicker because it wasn’t as thick. One more thing to try? Baking your meatloaf in muffin tins. Then you get darling individual meatloaves. Just cut the baking time to about 30 min. Speaking of the pictures, I took 32 of them. It finally dawned on me that meatloaf is not pretty! Hopefully you can get past that and try this unique recipe!

For crispy bacon, broil after baking. You can substitute a ketchup "frosting" for the bacon.

Country Meat Loaf

Serves 4-6

1 lb. ground beef

½ lb. pork sausage

1 medium onion, finely chopped

¾ cups old-fashioned rolled oats, (not instant)

½ cup shredded carrots

½ cup ketchup

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon salt

Dash pepper

4 slices of bacon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except bacon. Mix well. I find using my hands works best. Press the meat mixture into an 8×4 loaf pan. Place bacon strips on top of the meatloaf. Bake for 60 minutes.

Did You Know???  On May 29, 1953, Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay are the first people to reach the summit of Mt. Everest, the world’s highest peak.

10 responses to “Sunshine and Meatloaf…a perfect Sunday!

  1. […] Sunshine and Meatloaf…a perfect Sunday!(midcenturymeals.wordpress.com) […]

  2. sybaritica says:

    Meatloaf sandwich… perfect! I just wish my wife didn’t hate all meatloaf. I’d make it often (sigh)

  3. […] Sunshine and Meatloaf…a perfect Sunday!(midcenturymeals.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Sunshine and Meatloaf…a perfect Sunday! (midcenturymeals.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Karen says:

    My husband and I love meatloaf as much for the hot meal as the sandwiches the next day. I’ll put bacon on the next one I make.

  6. nancycg56 says:

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!! I grew up in the 50s and 60s and so many of your recipes bring back happy memories for me 🙂 I have subscribed so I won’t miss a thing!!

    Nancy @ A Recipe A Day

  7. I didn’t like meatloaf as a kid either. My mom put too much onion and green pepper in hers and it turned me off for a very long time. Now, I love it in many different variations. Admittedly though…I have never made a meatloaf sandwich. How weird is that? :p

    • That is the big thing in my family, but I have 3 big boys, (23 yr. old, away at college, is 6’8″)! They like their meat. Yesterday I made the large loaf and 4 mini. The 21 yr old and the 15 yr old who live at home have feasted. I have 2 mini left. They are already asking when I will make more.Tonight I am making your salmon and quinoa instead. 🙂

  8. Caryl Wilson says:

    Wow, I have never tried meatloaf with carrots and bacon. Might have to think about that one. I wish you would send some of your sunny weather this direction. We are back to cold and rainy. So in honor of the cold weather I am going to make up a skillet of chicken parmesan and maybe some risotto. Although, meatloaf would be good for this weather too! I am still trying to find a good gluten free white bread. If I find one I will have to try out the recipe above for meatloaf sandwiches. Thanks again for sharing.

Please leave a Reply

