midcenturymeals

1950's and 60's meals, memories and trivia

Saucy Corned Beef

on March 16, 2012

Yum!!

I don’t know why I feel like it is imparative I celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. I am about 1/16th Irish. Maybe it is because I love the color green. Or perhaps because I love a good dark beer…Guinness, of course. (Green beer doesn’t excite me…) I love Irish pub bands, “Gaelic Storm” in particular. (Check them out on YouTube!) Irish history is fascinating and the people are wonderful. Does all this make me full blooded Irish? No, but I am going to pretend for a day, like most of the rest of America. That is why I am posting this recipe. One more way to feel Irish for the day!

Luv my Le Creuset Dutch oven!

This is not your typical corned beef recipe. I was raised with the basic boiled corned beef brisket. The one that cooks for hours in the pot then put on a plate and smothered in mustard. One of my sons was NOT a fan! Then great auntie Phyllis, one of the most amazing women I ever knew, gave me this recipe to try. Now this is a favorite of the entire family. I remember absolutely refusing to eat corned beef when I was young. If only I could have poured this sauce over it! You decide if you would like to add the potatoes, carrots and cabbage to the pot. I love the veggies cooked with the brisket. You have some latitude when it comes to the weight of the meat so I didn’t put anything specific in the recipe. It will work with almost any size prepackaged corned beef. Make one large enough for leftovers. This makes a great sandwich the next day!  I posted a day early so you have time to run out and get your corned beef in time for tomorrow. Erin Go Bragh…Ireland Forever!

Saucy Corned Beef Brisket

Serves 4+

 

1 Corned Beef Brisket

**********

1 cup brown sugar

¾ cup + 1 tablespoon ketchup

The delicious sauce.

2 tablespoons prepared mustard

2 tablespoons vinegar

2 tablespoons canola oil

6 whole cloves

Trim excess fat from the corned beef. Place in a large Dutch oven and just cover the meat with water. Simmer on the stove top for approximately 3 or 4 hours OR bake in the oven at 350 degrees until corned beef is tender. For sauce, combine remaining ingredients in a small saucepan and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir occasionally to prevent burning. This sauce recipe can easily be doubled, tripled, etc. (I ALWAYS double it!)Slice the meat against the grain.

Bubbling in the oven with the sauce. So tender after 4 hrs in the pot, it is falling apart!

When corned beef is tender, you can do one of 2 things:

  1. Place corned beef in a baker and cover with sauce. Bake at 400 degrees until sauce is baked on, 15-20 minutes
  2. If you are in a hurry, just slice corned beef and pour sauce over the meat or serve it on the side. Either way is awesome!

 Did You Know???   The Beverly Hillbillies, Bonanza, The Dick Van Dyke Show, Petticoat Junction, and Andy Griffith were the most popular T.V. shows of 1963.


6 responses to “Saucy Corned Beef

  1. Paricia Michael says:

    I have had this and it is truly delicious!

  2. Karen says:

    I’ll have to give your sauce a try…I usually like a mustard horseradish mix to serve along mine.

Please leave a Reply